Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Mar 17, 2005, 9:20 AM   #1

Hi all...i am very new to photography and digicam. My first digicam is konica minolta dimage X 50 which i bought a couple of months ago. I have problems shooting at night shots. I use tripod but the problem is that the lights are blurry..especially the buildings and street lightings..I am confused with the setting. Currently i use the night mode, with the exposure +2.0...sometimes auto with exposure +2.0 and ISO 400...still the results are unbearable...

hope someone can help me out. I will post the examples here soon..now charging the battery

many thanks

junior is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 17, 2005, 11:12 AM   #2

I think your problem is the +2.0 exposure compensation. The automatic exposure system will always lighten a dark or night scene to make it equivalent to 18% gray. This will cause the photo to be too light. Since you have added +2 compensation, you have made the situation significantly worse.

I recommend that you try -1.0 compensation at ISO 100 and see if it looks better. It should make the sky black and should not cause the lights to flare nearly as much.

On the opposite end of the exposure scale, if you are shooting a very bright scene such as bright snow, the auto exposure system will make the photos too dark for the same reason, 18% gray. In this case, you need +1.0 compensation.

BTW, that scene looks very familiar. Is that downtown Portland, Oregon as seen from the east side of the Willamette River?

Good Luck,

Cal Rasmussen
calr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2005, 9:28 PM   #3

thanks for the advice, i will try again tonight..