Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Mar 20, 2005, 10:10 PM   #1

Dear experts at Steve's,

I am a newbie to digital cameras. I wanted a digital camera that is as silent as possible.When I take a shot,the whatever camera noiseproducedmust notbe audible to someone sitting next to me, in a silent room. I have a digital camera with3 x zoom and 3.2 times digital zoom.Butafter I disabled the sound effects or volume to zero, there is still , what I think,motor noise from thecamera. I like to find out if this noise can bereduced or disabled. I can forgo the optical zooming if it helps and only use thedigital zoom or even no zoom at all.

Couldanyone advice me on this problem?

kr,

Kyo

Kyo1010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 20, 2005, 10:53 PM   #2

You didn't say what kind of camera you are using. Is it a point and shoot or DSLR. If it is DSLR, there will be shutter noise and autofocus noise. You can use manual focus but you can't eliminate the shutter noise. With a DSLR, zoom is manual. In a P&S it is usually electric and makes some noise. Don't even think about using digital zoom unless you want really bad pictures.

Now, what and where will you be shooting? If you are trying for stealth and trying to hide the camera, there may be legal issues involved. If you are shooting in a game preserve blind, the small amount of noise shouldn't be a problem. Getting back to stealth, you obviously can't use a flash. This introduces problems with exposure and shutter speed. If it is dark, you can't use hand-held.

Please provide us with more information about your shooting project or assignment.

Cal Rasmussen
calr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2005, 7:24 AM   #3

Hi Cal,