Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Jun 13, 2005, 11:30 AM   #1

This week I'm getting the Sony p200, I'll be going on vacation in a few weeks and will be shooting lots of pictures. I was wondering how good are the preset modes on these cameras? Is it wise to use these modes like the beach scene, landscape etc or are you better of playing w/ the settings? I'm far from an expert so im not to sure if messing w/ the ISO and other settings would be wise. Does anyone have any tips on certain settings for shooting your basic scenary on an island? Such as the sunset, water, gardens etc.

thanx in advance!
joey d is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 13, 2005, 12:49 PM   #2

joey d wrote:
Quote:
I was wondering how good are the preset modes on these cameras? Is it wise to use these modes like the beach scene, landscape etc
IMO, in general, preset are fine, except for unusual situations, and you just name one: beach scene, where background is often verybright and tends to make the subject underexposed (because it,s based on theaverage metering). Switch to spot metering (spot on subject) or somekind of more inteligent mode if the camera has it.
In beach scene , fill in flash is also an option (subject is under shadow for example)
KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2005, 7:53 PM   #3

I tend to agree with KCan but check your owners manual and see what the camera sets as the default ISO in the various modes. On my Fuji S5100, the default is 100. Down here in the sunny South, I lock mine in on 64 for outdoor shots and flip between Auto and Apeture Priority. AP (or other manual settings)lets me set the EV comp down a notch or two for bright subjects/areas. Ialso have more control over the DOF with just a single setting.