Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Apr 29, 2006, 12:59 PM   #1

:? Hi I'm new to digital photography & I'm wondering if it's possible to edit out purple fringing ? I can get rid of noise most of the time but P F has got me beat ,I have Photo Elements 4 & I cant find any reference to it ,so I would appreciate any advice. Thanks in anticipation

deadshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 29, 2006, 7:24 PM   #2

Hard to correct unless you can shoot in RAW & have access to the latest Photoshop software.....
Old Apr 29, 2006, 7:59 PM   #3

There are also several CS2 actions to do the same to JPG, etc. files. Perhaps not quite as good as working in RAW, but they still reduce the PF.

Here's one of many: http://www.shaystephens.com/ca-ps.php. I use one by Peter iNova for PF reduction when it occurs with my DSC-F828 --- it comes with his digital camera e-books.. Here's another one that is free: http://www.sd3.info/pf828/

However, I know of none that work with Elements. Sorry.
hgernhardtjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2006, 9:24 PM   #4

......it's called "elements" for a reason (Paint Shop Pro is an excellent alterative to the full-blown PhotoShop).
Old Apr 30, 2006, 7:08 AM   #5

There is a plugin called PFree which does work with Elements. I don't seem to have the URL though. May have fotten it from photo freeware site. It's a bit complicated to use, as there are many adjustments, and the thumbnail view doesn't zoom, which makes things hard to see at times. Once I got it figured out, I found it to work well, though. Don't use it much, as my camera isn't too prone to that, and I mostly shoot RAW. Good RAW conversion software does prevent it from showing up much.

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2006, 9:47 AM   #6

I'm not familiar with elements, but if it has Select > Color Select you can do about what CS2 does.