Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Jul 26, 2006, 12:36 PM   #1

I just got a Nikon D50 to replace my Nikon N65. It came with a Quantaray 28-90mm lens and a 100-300mm lens. I'm looking for advice on shooting from airplanes with a digital (I used to get a lot of blurry pics with my N65). A friend of mine said I should use really fast shutter speeds since I'm doing over 100mph even though it doesn't look like it to me. I've also been told that I should be using a polarizing filter. Please keep in mind that I am a photography nOOb. It's only because of my love of flying that I discovered how much fun photography is. I have a lot to learn...

Thanks!
aaron2874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 26, 2006, 3:24 PM   #2

I wouldn't use a polarizer. It cuts your light too much and you want plenty of shutter speed - especially with zoom. Not for the speed of the airplane but for vibrations. Stabization doesn't help for vibrations BTW.

You might want to get a haze filter if you don't plan on post-processing with a good image editor.

Do not let the camera touch the window or any other aircraft part. Your body is the best isolation for the vibrations.

slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2006, 8:00 PM   #3

How much money are you willing to burn?

http://www.ken-lab.com/index.html
GoCubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2006, 9:33 AM   #4

Photographing out of an airplane is not that dificult. I just open up my lens at aperture prefered and let the camera set the shutter speed. I usualy use ISO 400. I do use a HAZE filter because there is always a little haze between the airplane or copter and the ground. You may want to keep a look on your shutter speed and adjust the ISO to maintain it properly.

When I shoot out of an airplane or helicopter I always have the door removed. If that is not possible for you be sure that your arms do not touch anything on the plane while shooting the picture.

Ronnie