Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Feb 22, 2007, 3:24 AM   #1

I'll be blunt. I just bought a powershot A630. I'm in the market for a good tripod (I prefer taking stills of lanscapes). My budget is currently limited (preferably under $50) as I'm a college student.

I have been looking through many tripods, and from what I hear, for cheaper tripods, velbon's are the ticket. I'll probably pick one up off of amazon as I have a couple of gift cards, and was looking through velbon's cheaper offerings on amazon (IE which would be the best for a cheaper pod of the lot):

http://preview.tinyurl.com/yq33bs
(reg url was too long and href wont work; this will show the link before visiting it if you're paranoid).

I am also looking for a good bag for the A630, something fairly sturdy as I will be carrying it around on me 24-7 no doubt. Editing and photoshop are my fortays, buying a decent tripod is not .

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your help,
Kutza
Kutza is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 25, 2007, 3:59 PM   #2

What you're really looking for in a tripod is rigidity, setup convenience, and storage convenience, since all tripods are pretty much the same in all other respects.

The only way to find one that will suit you best is to go to a store that has a good selection, and try them.

But shopping at a storefront and then buying on-line is rude. If you take advantage of the service you receive at a store, you should purchase at that store.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2007, 8:21 PM   #3

TCav wrote:
Quote:
What you're really looking for in a tripod is rigidity, setup convenience, and storage convenience, since all tripods are pretty much the same in all other respects....
A quibble: stability is what you want, not rigidity. Many rigid object vibrate - sometimes in nasty ways.