Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Feb 23, 2007, 11:33 PM   #1

Alright so here's the deal. I'm an amateur photographer and I recently ordered the Nikon D200 with the Nikkor 18-200mm lens after thorougly researching everything. This will be my first DSLR. I'm going to be needing a tripod to work with, but I am confused as to what to look for or what kind to get.

I've read up on these forums and deduced that Manfrotto is a good brand and one I would probably be happy with. I've settled that, but now the specifics come in to play.

What kind of tripod legs would be good for a budget of around $200-$350? Suggestions of carbon fiber or aluminum tripods are fine.

Also, what kind of head? I know I'm going to need a ballhead to begin with (going to start with nature photography then move onto sports later). What kind would be ideal? Budget of about $100-200 for that. And for later, what kind of head do I need for sports or portait shots?

Also, this is unrelated, but is the D200 capable of a wireless release system as the D80 is, or is it wire only? thank you for any and all help. If you need more specific info, let me know.
etalyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 26, 2007, 10:25 PM   #2