Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Apr 8, 2007, 10:47 PM   #1

Okay, I'm new to the tripod thing. Just acquired a Canon 30d and have three great Canon lenses - the heaviest being a 70-300mm IS.

I do a lot of hiking and want a relatively light tripod 3.5 lbs or less -- thinking carbon fiber here. I'm also 6'2" and need some heighth on the tripod. Plus super stability. Alright, I want it all.

I have about $200 total to spend and won't mind used equipment. I see I can probably buy both legs and a quick release ball head at that price IF I buy something like a Feisol or Fancier FT series - ala Chinese products.

My question: Are the Chinese tripods even close in quality (as they claim) to Gitzo and Manfrotto? Can I get what I want at my price? Or, should I just suck it up and lay out another 200-300 and buy the name brand?

Anyone with experience in the knock-off realm out there?

Thanks in advance. Your advice is much appreciated!
Photomonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 3, 2007, 2:38 PM   #2

I'm quite happy with the various Amvona products which are copies of Bogen/Manfrotto Gear, that I bought on ebay for around 1/3 of the price the comparable brand name stuff.

I have a couple of sets of the AT-858B aluminum leg sets (paid around $50 each including shipping), and 3 different heads:

I bought an ATH-H91 head for under $20 incl. shipping,
an ATH-H96 head for under $50 incl. Shipping,

and I just got a really nice ATH-A04 Ball Head for under $85 including shipping.

IMHO, each of these ball heads is worth at least twice what I paid for it. The ATH-A04 seems to be in the same class as the Feisol heads selling for close to $200.
DougJGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2007, 12:23 PM   #3