Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Feb 23, 2008, 11:07 PM   #1

I'm not really good with all the brands out there or just what I should look for. I know that I want a sturdy tripod with a quick release. Something also where the legs will extend out to bring it closer to the ground. I know that they can range in prices over $100, but I'd like to keep it under that amount. Any suggestions?
orcaartist is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 25, 2008, 1:57 AM   #2

orcaartist wrote:
Quote:
I'm not really good with all the brands out there or just what I should look for. I know that I want a sturdy tripod with a quick release. Something also where the legs will extend out to bring it closer to the ground. I know that they can range in prices over $100, but I'd like to keep it under that amount. Any suggestions?
The 1st part is easy...Bogen. If you want a tripod that will allow you to place your camera 12 inches from the ground, you will need to spend more than your budget.
Old Mar 2, 2008, 11:08 PM   #3

This is an old article, but it still rings true.

Doug

http://www.bythom.com/support.htm

orcaartist wrote:
Quote:
dougste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2008, 10:27 PM   #4

I have this one in layaway at my local camera store. I played with it first and it is very sturdy. Got the tripod and head for $216. You can get cheaper heads to keep the price down.

Tripod
http://www.bogenimaging.us/Jahia/sit...st=MARKET:MKT1

Head
http://www.bogenimaging.us/Jahia/sit...st=MARKET:MKT1

ZippyZX2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2008, 3:02 AM   #5