Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old May 18, 2009, 12:25 PM   #1

Default Tripod suggestions

Looking to buy a new tripod. Budget limited to $250. Prefer a Ball head, and a Min height of about 59 or 60 inches., higher is a plus. Will support 10 lb. or more. I have looked at several camera sites, eg. Adorama, B&H etc, and there are so many I'm confused. Any suggestions.
jfwalkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 18, 2009, 1:46 PM   #2
Super Moderator

I'm not an expert on Tripods, I have 3 but none with a ball head but have moved the thread to the tripod section where you should get some good advice.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2009, 2:40 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfwalkr View Post
Looking to buy a new tripod. Budget limited to $250. Prefer a Ball head, and a Min height of about 59 or 60 inches., higher is a plus. Will support 10 lb. or more. I have looked at several camera sites, eg. Adorama, B&H etc, and there are so many I'm confused. Any suggestions.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...gs_Black_.html

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...gs_Black_.html

Stand alone legs. The 055XPROB has the flex use center column with can be used horizontally as well as vertically. I own that exact model. Use the center column horizontally about 1 time per month (ok, sometimes twice per month, sometimes less). Both units will reverse such that the center column can be used upside down for macro shooting of flower and bugs. Get the regular unit and save a few $ if the horizonatal flex center column is not useful for your needs.

Not a fan of ball heads as I use pan and tilt heads (I only used one ball head, way back when, and hated it), but I picked out two popular ball heads for you:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...ead_Quick.html

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...d_w_Rapid.html