Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Sep 13, 2011, 5:14 PM   #1

Default VANGUARD Tripods????

HAs anyone had any experience with Vanguard tripods?? I was looking at this one Vanguard Alta 283CP ( the link to the the website is: http://www.adorama.com/VGA283CP.html ). There is dang many of them and the cost is from way low to thru the roof. I want a decent one, but I do not need to morgage the house for it! I am always over buying and for once I am trying to get something for what I need, not over doing it.
Is one better than the next (fluid pan head over ball heads), I under stand the leg construction vrs weight etc.... But I am NOT a profeshional (can't spell either.... hahaha), just want to get one that will work for larger lens etc.
Lastly, I am going to be buying a lens that has the tripod mount on it. Will I need any special kind of mount that goes on it to the tripod head??
As always, Thank You for ya'lls help and look forward to your expert responses!!

Walt
Weedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 13, 2011, 6:36 PM   #2

I highly recommend going to a camera store that carries a few tripods and spending some time with them. As a rule of thumb, you can get cheap tripods, you can get light-weight tripods and you can get sturdy tripods. But you can only get 2 out of 3, so choose which area you can compromise (weight, stability, cost).

There's a number of things to consider when buying a tripod - one that's often overlooked is focal length. The longer the lens, the more it's susceptible to shake so while you might be able to get away with a less sturdy tripod for a short lens, you might not be able to do the same thing with a long lens. So a long lens needs a sturdier tripod. Since you are talking about buying a lens with a tripod mount, I suspect you might need a sturdier tripod than what the weight capacity is.