Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Apr 20, 2005, 2:10 PM   #1

I received my new Dynatran AT-858CL tripod today for my Canon 20D. This thing is very solidly built...and quite heavy...about 7 to 8 lbs. I purchased it from from ebay (amvona.com is the seller) for about $52 including shipping. I've never seen any tripod this good for this price. Grant, I have no other tripod experience except those $40 to $60 Velbon tripods you find at Best Buy or whatever, but this thing is in a different class than those Velbon tripods. Almost everything about the tripod is made of metal, including the tripod head and quick release plate. This is no flimsy tripod.

Here are the specs: http://www.amvona.com/v7/shop/?page=...roduct_id=2020

Here's the tripod in ebay: http://search-desc.ebay.com/at-858CL...CLQQsofocusZbs
AlpineMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 21, 2005, 9:08 AM   #2

Tripod inside bag
Attached Images

Old Apr 21, 2005, 9:09 AM   #3

Tripod unfolded.
Attached Images

Old Apr 21, 2005, 9:09 AM   #4

Tripod head
Attached Images

Old Apr 21, 2005, 9:10 AM   #5

Tripod short
Attached Images

Old Apr 21, 2005, 9:11 AM   #6

Tripod tall
Attached Images

Old Apr 21, 2005, 9:12 AM   #7

Tripod head mounted upside down
Attached Images

Old Apr 21, 2005, 7:40 PM   #8

AlpineMan wrote:
Quote:
...and quite heavy...
Heavy isn't always bad. A cast-iron frying pan is one of the best cooking
implements, but you wouldn't want to take it on a long hike.

I like a three-axis head. Slows me down enough to make me think about what I am doing.
Not the best for something like sports, but I don't do much/any of that.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2005, 9:22 PM   #9

I bought this tripod cuz: