Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Jun 25, 2005, 6:34 AM   #1

I currently have a Canon 20D with a Sigma 18-125, but I will probably buy a heavier telephoto in the next few months. Weight is not a major consideration now in that I'll probably buy a light weight tripod for hiking later on. I'm willing to spend what is necessary, but I'd prefer to keep the cost under $300 as I'm a complete novice who won't be using this heavily.
vjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 25, 2005, 6:22 PM   #2

now is that the tripod as in legs or both tripod and head together?
sjms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2005, 8:36 AM   #3

I'll need both, and I'm not adverse to buying used on e-bay. I just need to know what to look for. For example, I can find Manfrotto 3001 legs for around $50. It doesn't say whether they are "Pro," so I assume it must be an older model.

sjms wrote:
Quote:
now is that the tripod as in legs or both tripod and head together?
Old Jun 26, 2005, 8:52 AM   #4

the pro in the 3021pro is additional articulation of the center post capability. it can be moved to al lateral position making it one outstanding macro pod.the 3001Bpro is a lighter weight equivelent design

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...goryNavigation

its load capacity drops by 1/3

how many tripod do you want to buy in your life?

you investin not buy such equipment.

a tripod is an extension of you and the camera. if you cannot interface with it the way you want it becomes closet clutter (wasted money). cheap tripod get no return on investment.

Old Jun 26, 2005, 9:11 AM   #5

I am new to this, but I am having a hard time believing that I can't get a pretty good tripod/head combo used for under $300.

sjms wrote:
Quote:
the pro in the 3021pro is additional articulation of the center post capability. it can be moved to al lateral position making it one outstanding macro pod.the 3001Bpro is a lighter weight equivelent design