Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Apr 20, 2006, 10:02 AM   #1

Hey guys,

I'm a beginning photographer, and while I've been researching lenses to no end, I find myself a little overwhelmed by the variety of tripods and heads out there. I know I need a quality tripod, but I certainly can't go the route Thom suggests on his webpage and spending $1000.

I'm looking to spend ~$400 on a good tripod system. My current legs of choice are the Slik Pro 813's. Now I'm looking at ballheads.

I don't ever imagine my camera going over 7 pounds.

My question is - while a quick release system sure seems like it would be handy, do they compromise a tripods stability any? I would imagine cheap ones would, but are there manufacturers out there with a proven quick release? Or should I avoid them all together?

Thanks for any input. Feel free to give any advice about tripods in general.
PoweredBySoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 20, 2006, 1:55 PM   #2

PoweredBySoy wrote:
Quote:
Hey guys,

I'm a beginning photographer, and while I've been researching lenses to no end, I find myself a little overwhelmed by the variety of tripods and heads out there. I know I need a quality tripod, but I certainly can't go the route Thom suggests on his webpage and spending $1000.

I'm looking to spend ~$400 on a good tripod system. My current legs of choice are the Slik Pro 813's. Now I'm looking at ballheads.

I don't ever imagine my camera going over 7 pounds.

My question is - while a quick release system sure seems like it would be handy, do they compromise a tripods stability any? I would imagine cheap ones would, but are there manufacturers out there with a proven quick release? Or should I avoid them all together?

Thanks for any input. Feel free to give any advice about tripods in general.
Quote: