Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 10, 2006, 12:53 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12
Default

I haven't owned a tripod and am just planning on buying one. Just wanted to know if, suppose I buy tripod ballhead from one brand (say, Manfrotto) and legs from another manufacturer (Velbon) -- would they be compatible? Is it the norm for tripod brandsto have a generic head accessconfiguration, or are their designs proprietary?

Thanks!
takipsilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 10, 2006, 4:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 198
Default

Most tripods use a standard 3/8" screw to mount the head, although some light duty ones use a 1/4" mount. Similarly, most ballheads will mount on a 3/8" screw, and many can also be adapted to 1/4". So most heads are compatible with most legs, at least above the entry level, where the head may not be interchangeable.

That being said, some people believe that the best performance is attained with heads that are designed for a specific set of legs. Personally, I've not seen any test data that confirms this, but it's certainly possible that better vibration resistance could be obtained if the head is optimized for the resonance frequency of a specific leg set.
DougJGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2006, 9:28 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
pagerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 483
Default

I bought a small tripod with the head but needed a quick release which I bought seperately(has two size threads). Works awesome.
pagerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2006, 1:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
tmoreau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 477
Default

I'd be worried about interchangability of the quick release plates, too. Arca swiss is the most common and availible from many sources, all others seem to be proprietary.
tmoreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2006, 11:11 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
pagerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 483
Default

My quick release plate works on my digicam my dv camcorder and my p&s 35mm. Its a Manfrotto plate.
pagerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:38 PM.