Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tripods and Heads

Old Jul 26, 2006, 2:11 PM   #1

I bought once a cheap chinese tripod. For the price it was quite good and sturdy, but then it once broke when i tried to rise the center pylon and obviously forgot to loosen something before it. :sad:

I got enough about cheap tripods and began to look for a better one. I have one cheaper possibility, Manfrotto 390 which costs here about 95 euro and the more expensive choise could be Slik Pro 500DX or 700DX. I have been thinking more about the 700 because it costs only 20 euro more than the 500, something like 170 euro.

I'm just a hobby photographer, but i have some requirements for the tripod. It must be sturdy and the maximum height must be enough so that i don't get back aches because of using the tripod.

So what do you think, would it be for an amateur better solution to pay more and buy a Slik 700 which has more possibilities than the Manfrotto? Or do i waste the money if i pay 75 euro more for the Slik? :?
Welmu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 26, 2006, 10:21 PM   #2

I think it depends on the quality of your lens. For e.g. you have a $5000 tele lens then you need best of sturdy tripod to get the full potential of your lens. But if you have cheap $100 tele lens probably any average tripod(~ $50-100) should be good enough. For in between lens you can decide for yourself.
But I feel its real waste of money to buy cheap ~$30 tripod and break it. I'm also on the lookout for a setup, I have bought kirk BH-1 and planning to buy either Bogen 458B or Gitzo 3140, so that I could get full potential of sigma 120-300mm lens
chhetri_inside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2006, 11:30 PM   #3

I'll be interested to know what you end up with chhetri. I have a BH-1 on the way, and have yet to decide on a pair of legs. My head hurt from looking at them, so I've taken a few days off to do other things. Supose I should decide soon though.