Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Welcome Center > Welcome! Introduce yourself here

Old Jul 24, 2008, 9:12 PM   #1

Hi, I'm not only new here, I'm new to picture taking. I just brought a serious used camera(Olympus C-750)and I have some serious software(Adobe Web Premium CS3). Now I'll have to stop procrastinating about learning photography. I want to tell you now folks, I AM Green; yes with a capital G. I will have many, many question, and I invite all answers and advice.
I brought my camera from a graphic designer who inherited it but didn't need it. She didn't have the manual(I downloaded them online), CD(I don't think I need it), or the remote(I'm too green to know if I need this or not).
I will read the manual before I start with my 1001 questions, but I've already made 1 blunder. I ordered a 2GB card and found out I can't use it with this, so I'll return it for a 512MB.
tigner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 26, 2008, 3:44 PM   #2

Hi Tigner1,

I can fully understand your hesitation. This is whatI have done, too. I bought my camera several weeks ago - a Canon PowerShot A 720 IS (after my traditional camera is an Olympus - I am fond of that make, too!) and I always procrastinated (Thanks for this expression - it's brand new to me! I am a teacher of English) starting taking photos.

It was 22 July this year when I tried doing it...

My first advice: Try to find a good topic then shoot it with Auto Mode, then make changes - only one at a time - when shooting the same object.

E.g. Shoot sg in the room with a flash, then without a flash. It's not easy to find where the switch is ! :-) Shoot the very topic without then with 'My colours' Mode. To use this, you have to switch form Auto to Program 'P'.

And besides keep the manual at hand.

It seems very very confusing:?at the first time - but step by step the system is becoming quite clear.