Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Welcome Center > Welcome! Introduce yourself here

Old Jun 3, 2009, 12:31 PM   #1

Default Hello for MA

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the photo shooting game. I've always had point and shoots and got tired of having crappy pictures of my kids standing on stage in the auditorium 50 feet away. (Wish i had jumped on the bandwagon earlier....)

I bought a Canon Rebel XS and love it so far. Having a blast picking fun lenses - and spending wayyy more than I should considering my level of expertise. I have more questions than i can put into words so I have been spending time looking at websites and learning about f stop and shutter speed and aperture, and trying to figure out what they mean to my picture. Finally understanding a little but I've got a LONG way to go!

Here's to a lot of learning....

-Diane
Not_a_digi_diva is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 3, 2009, 12:38 PM   #2
Administrator

Welcome to the forums Diane. Once you have a good understanding of how iso speed, aperture, shutter speed and lighting are related, then you're ahead of most users. Of course, getting things like timing and composition right is harder. ;-)

Please make sure to share some photos from your Canon XS.
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 1:11 PM   #3

I posted a couple. My favorite lens so far is my Canon EF-S 10mm - 22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM AF wide angle.I took the picutre of the lake with it.

Last edited by Not_a_digi_diva; Jun 3, 2009 at 1:14 PM. Reason: didn't come out right
Old Jun 3, 2009, 2:25 PM   #4
Administrator

I see that you've already found some of our forums in the Post Your Photos section. We have a Landscapes forum you could post some of your lake photos in.

If the photos aren't attaching, they're probably too large (either their dimensions in pixels or their file size).