Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Welcome Center > Welcome! Introduce yourself here

Old Sep 2, 2009, 1:25 PM   #1

Default Howdy from Texarkana, TX!

Hey guys and gals!

My name is James, I'm 22 and from North East Texas around the Texarkana area. I live about 7 miles from the Lousiana border, and about 12 miles from the Arkansas border.

I worked as a Videographer and video editor for about 3 and a half years, and dabbled in Photography a bit on the side, but the studio I worked for had to lay off 75% of their employees due to the market slowing way down in this area. I work at a loan office now, and do a bit of light photography jobs part time on the side. My ultimate goal is to make a big enough name for myself locally to eventually quit the loan office and do photography full time.

I'm using an Olympus e-450 dSLR. It's sort of an entry dSLR, but I like it quite a bit. A lot of people complain about it not having Image Stabilization, but I don't really notice it honestly. Maybe it's from years of working in Video and having to be steady no matter what, I don't know.

Thanks for taking the time to read!

Last edited by Jerolin; Sep 2, 2009 at 1:47 PM. Reason: typo
Jerolin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 2, 2009, 1:37 PM   #2
Administrator

Welcome to the forums Jamie.

I don't know about the photography full time part. You'll need to be dedicated and find the right market niche (and you may need significant investment in equipment to work in some areas).

Of course, if you spend time in our forums, post photos and ask for help in areas you need improvement in, that can help with the technical skills (and you'll also want good marketing and business skills). ;-)
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2009, 1:55 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimC View Post