Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Welcome Center > Welcome! Introduce yourself here

Old Mar 19, 2010, 12:45 AM   #1

Default New Member, E-P1 looking for next m43 camera

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this forum. I am a hobbyist and taking photography more serious now because I am planning my retirement next year.

I have bought Oly E-P1 because it has all the festures I need and most important the light weight. However I miss the built in flash with the E-P1. I bought Pan 20mm 1.7f lens to aviod bringing the FL-36R I have.

Now with the Oly E-PL1 and Pan G2 or GF1 camera, should I buy it or it is better to invest the money on better lenses? Any advise?

Thank you.
pchengws is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 19, 2010, 12:53 AM   #2

If you like the light weight aspect, that factors out the G2. It is a bigger camera.

I just got a epl-1, and I love it. I have a thread with my impressions on this forum with some sample shots. If you are not into post production editing that much, the olympus has the best jpeg engine on the market. Also I ordered the olympus view finder for my epl-1 and it is has way better resolution then the panasonic one for the gf1. If you see yourself using a vf more then a lcd.

http://forums.steves-digicams.com/ol...mpression.html

http://forums.steves-digicams.com/ar...round-nyc.html

http://forums.steves-digicams.com/ol...5mm-3-5-a.html

Last edited by shoturtle; Mar 19, 2010 at 12:58 AM.
shoturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2010, 3:38 AM   #3

Thank you Shoturtle,

I like the E-PL1 too, just that within half a year buying similar camera just because I am lazy to carry a bigger flash. This is what I am fighting inside me.

For the age and for the weight I really want to keep everything M43, but looking at the lenses, if I am getting more serious on photography, looks like I need to go out of M43 lenses. At least on the Four third lenses with 2.8 or larger aperture lens.

Would you agree?