Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Welcome Center > Welcome! Introduce yourself here

Old Apr 15, 2010, 4:25 PM   #1

Default Noob

What to say? I never know

I am a Marine Engineer that is rapidly becoming unemployable and due to some health issues need to slow down a bit.

In either 1978 or 1979 my dad gave me his old Pentax Spotmatic 35mm and I have been hooked since.

I currently have a P880 and a P850 Kodak with the proper flash and extra lenses that I am able to use quite well within the limits of the cameras. The woman that took the pictures at my stepdaughters wedding was using a Sony A300 and my images were as good if not better in most cases and with her camera that should not have been. Dad always hammered into me that the person that knew his camera inside and out would take better pictures that the person with expensive gear they did not know how to use. The nice lady that did the cakes used my images over the hired photographers. She charged alot of money for very average images.

I have been looking at DSLR for quite a while have think I have settled on the Sony A550 with the F58 flash (I have quite a few different compatible lenses from Minolta film cameras). My wife who has worked at the same office supply place for almost 20 years has shown some of our images to the local schools and she wants me to buy the gear to go take images at dances. On-site printing and that sort of thing. We are currently selling a house we leased out for a number of years and she wants to set up a small studio and see if we can supplement our income and if we cannot she still counts it as a win for getting all of my crap out of her house. She is not having any problems getting me to go along. I am not looking to do wedding photography but more on the portrait side.