Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Welcome Center > Welcome! Introduce yourself here

Old Apr 30, 2011, 1:19 PM   #1

Default Greetings-Canon Rebel

Hello all, my name is Troy and Im a newbie to big boy cameras. I recently purchased a new Canon EOS Rebel XS and Im trying not to bang my head against the wall. I have always loved taking photos and have had many compliments. Im getting ready to shoot a wedding for a family member (free) and have been learning that its better to shoot people with a bigger lens. I haven't yet purchased the upgrade lens for my camera and was given a loaner lens to try. Its a 80-200mm that came off of a 35mm camera (not digital). Can I use it on my digital Rebel XS? Are there pros and cons to using this lens on my camera? I have attached it and it seems to auto focus correctly but I'm just learning so any advice would be appreciated. I'm waiting to receive my Canon EOS Rebel XS For Dummies book in the mail, hopefully it will help me move forward. Thank you in advance.

Troy
TAWM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 30, 2011, 1:34 PM   #2
Administrator

Hey Troy. Welcome to Steve's.

A Wedding, huh? I'd tell them no and run the other way. ;-)

Is this an Canon EF mount lens that was used on an EOS film camera? If not (and it's an Canon FD mount manual focus lens), it's not going to work.

I'd give very specific information on the exact lens model you're asking about. Your best bet would be to ask about lenses in our Canon Lenses Forum. Here's a direct link to it:

Canon Lenses