Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Welcome Center > Welcome! Introduce yourself here

Old Jun 11, 2011, 11:06 PM   #1

Default Problems with new Canon T2i

Hi there!

I am an amateur photographer and I am hoping someone can help me. I am feeling very frustrated with the Canon EOS T2i camera that I recently purchased. There are a few things that are not working for me and perhaps I am not doing something right. The following are the issues I am having:

1) When using the AF mode, in any setting it is Extremely slow to focus. I am missing out on shots always waiting for the auto focus to make up its mind. I am tempted to over ride this with the MF mode. Any suggestions to increase the speed? I should note I am just using a standard 55mm lens with image stabilizer.

2) Because the auto focus takes so long continuous shooting is never possible for me.

3) The continuous shooting is so slow when using the flash that I try not to use it whenever possible.

Any suggestions for me? my main concern is the auto focus, I am taking forever to take the picture when I sometimes just don't have the time.
christinebadding is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 11, 2011, 11:10 PM   #2

some more info would e helpful, what was the lighting condition, and where you on the long end of the zoom or does it happen at 18mm also? Also what mode where you using?
Old Jun 12, 2011, 1:01 AM   #3

My first question was also what mode you're using - One Shot or AI Focus/Servo. Also whether your lens is proven (on another camera) or whether it could be faulty. I have a 7D rather than a T2i and I don't recognise your problem. In theory the body could be defective but I've never heard of this fault with any of the Canon 18mp bodies.

You say you have a "standard 55mm lens". Do you mean the standard kit zoom lens, which goes from 18-55mm? Otherwise I don't know of a standard 55mm lens.