Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Welcome Center > Welcome! Introduce yourself here

Old Jan 7, 2012, 8:52 PM   #1

Default D5000 issues with focused/birght photos

Hello everyone. I love to take pictures...mainly of my little boy. Everything I know about my camera and photography has been self-taught...which is why I probably need some help.

I have had the D5000 for a couple of years now. It normally works very well. Lately, I have noticed my flash is not firing when set on auto mode. Some of my pictures appear grainy when I know the lighting is just fine. I have played around with my camera settings a lot over the past couple of months and I think I have changed something that is messing up the quality of my pictures. I have tried to reset custom settings, but that hasn't helped the issue. The image size is set to Large. I have the ISO setting on either auto or 250.

I really need some info on what my basic settings should be or what I should look for that I have possibly changed in error.

Thanks in advance
jfphotos is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 7, 2012, 10:38 PM   #2
Administrator

When you reset Custom Settings, that only resets a small subset of your available settings, and doesn't reset many things that may be causing odd image quality issues (exposure and flash compensation related settings, drive/release mode settings, etc.)

I'd use what Nikon calls a "Two Button Reset" instead so that you reset those kinds of things. Basically, you press the Info button (right behind the shutter button), and i button (by the LCD on the lower left) and hold down both at the same time for more than 2 seconds. You'll see a tiny green dot by both buttons. That should reset everything back to factory defaults for you. See the instructions for a two button reset on page 78 of this manual (it's actually the 96th page of the .pdf):

http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/dslr/D5000_en.pdf