Steve's Digicams Forums

Steve's Digicams Forums (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/)
-   What Camera Should I Buy? (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/what-camera-should-i-buy-80/)
-   -   Looking to spend about $700-$800 (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/what-camera-should-i-buy-80/looking-spend-about-%24700-%24800-109595/)

Retnuhrace Dec 20, 2006 4:02 PM

Ok, here's the deal. I'm a very novice camera user (when it comes to all of the advanced features of the camera). However, I've always had a passion for photography, so I'm looking to spend whatever holiday money I get this year on a new camera. My ultimate goal is to take amazing-looking up-close macro shots of wildlife, nature, and things of that sort. However, I also would like a camera that can take good pics of moving objects, for example at a football or baseball game.

Right now I have a good-ole P&S: a 5MP Canon Powershot A95. I feel that now is the time to upgrade. I've been researching cameras heavily for the past 3 days or so, and I am on the fence about whether to get a super-zoom or a D-SLR. I know that a super-zoom will ultimately be cheaper, but I know that a D-SLR will be better for me in the long run. I know that there will be a pretty steep learning curve for myself if I get a D-SLR (I've never used a camera of that type before).

So basically, I'm looking to spend about $700-800 for not only the camera, but accessories like lenses, a case, and a sufficient memory device. Thanks for the help!

JohnG Dec 20, 2006 6:14 PM