Steve's Digicams Forums

Steve's Digicams Forums (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/)
-   What Camera Should I Buy? (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/what-camera-should-i-buy-80/)
-   -   olympus e420 or nikon d3000 (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/what-camera-should-i-buy-80/olympus-e420-nikon-d3000-163720/)

gboa Dec 25, 2009 3:07 PM

olympus e420 or nikon d3000

trying to decide for first time slr. i am a beginner and have no slr
experiance but want a step up from point and shoot.
main uses will be my kids indoor and out. this is a very informative
site and i value all opinions.
d3000 with 18-55mm dx lens
e420 with 17-45mm lens.
the d3000 is about $80 more as i will also have to purchase xd card for the
e420.

mtclimber Dec 25, 2009 3:18 PM

gboa-

Welcome to the Forums. We're glad you dropped by.

The Olympus E-620 is a fairer comparison for the Nikon D-3000, as the D-3000 comes equipped with the 18-55mmVR lens. The Olympus E-420, while a very good camera, does not have any IS capability.

The Olympus E-620 has in body IS and is more comparable to the Nikon D-3000 camera. While the E-620 is a bit more expensive than the E-420, it has a feature set that is better than the E-420 or the D-3000 cameras.

Therefore my recommendation would be for you to consider the Olympus E-620. The E-620 two lens kit is currently very attractively priced. If that price niche is out of your budget range, consider the E-510 or E-520 two lens kits, which are the biggest bargain in the DSLR market place right now.

Merry Christmas!

Sarah Joyce

gboa Dec 25, 2009 3:29 PM

the d3000 is $450 and the e420 is $350 canadian, these are the lowest
prices i currently can find and or want to spend. i did just notice the
canon eos rebel xs for $450 as well. by the way the d300 lens is non vr.

shoturtle Dec 25, 2009 3:31 PM

Hi gboa,