Steve's Digicams Forums

Steve's Digicams Forums (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/)
-   What Camera Should I Buy? (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/what-camera-should-i-buy-80/)
-   -   Shopping for my first dSLR (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/what-camera-should-i-buy-80/shopping-my-first-dslr-87718/)

dandcp Apr 24, 2006 2:25 AM

I have been taking pictures since I was in High School (almost 20 years) with my Pentax ME Super, Vivitar 80-200mm, 50mm. Sadly about 2 years ago it was all stolen, and since then I havejust used aSony Cybershotfor basic memory photos. I have just recently been able to afford a new one and have decided to that I want a nice dSLR to get back into photography as I miss it so much. I enjoy taking the nice scenics, landscapes, (Sunsets at beach, mountains, waterfalls etc) and of course my two daughters. I am no professional... yet... maybe I'd call myself a serious amateur.

My budget is $1200-1300.

I have done some researchand am aiming for a 6-8MP camera. I don't know if I can afford the Canon 20D or not, and still get a good quality lens. I have looked also at theNikon D50/D70, Pentax istDS2 and just saw Canon 350D. I would appreciate any feedback or questions.

I would like tomake sure I get a nice telephoto lens too. at least 200mmzoom but maybe 300 or 400, but that maybe out of my $$ range, yes, I am a dreamer.

I have a tripod already. so justfocusing on body, 2 lens, backpack, may wait to get flash later, but doneed one. of course need a nice size memory card. maybe 2GB? what's the deal with batteries? I have readstuff about AA being better than the Lithium kind. Anythoughts?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

dandcp Apr 24, 2006 11:13 PM