Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 5, 2006, 8:39 PM   #1

I am a beginner to this types of camera, but I am very good at learning this type of thing. I originally wanted a 30D but then the 400D came out. I know thatgood lenses are very important.I know the 30D is faster and takes better pictures. But as a beginner, will I notice the difference in quality before it is time to upgrade again? I plan on being in this for the long haul and I am a techie so I will probably upgrade everycouple years. I of course dont want to waste money, but if I were to go out today and but one is the 30D $300 better than the xti.

I keep waiting for steves review but with this tech stuff I get impatient.

Thanks
kevincole is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 6, 2006, 10:59 AM   #2

IQ wise, both will be roughly same but I haven't seen any pictures from 400d yet. If you just starting, then 400d is more than enough. I would say, go to a local store and hand hold each and see which one you like. For some, like me rebel line is too small and doesn't feel good but others prefer it to heavier 20d/30.

If money is an issue, I would buy 400d, and get better leneses.

bobbyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2006, 11:23 PM   #3

:|:|get the xti!! it is 10 megapixel camera, got larger lcd, self cleaning sensor. it puts 20d,30d to shame!!
astral8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2006, 11:37 PM   #4

I don't think just looking at MP and the self-cleaning sensor should be the deciding factors.

You need to think about which features are important to you. I'm not all that familiar with Canon's lineup, but I believe that the 30D can take more continuous shots than the Rebel XTI. Also, you may want to look at other factors such how quickly each one auto-focuses, sensor noise (for taking pictures in low light etc.).