Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 7, 2006, 12:33 PM   #1

Hello, I am a complete and utter novice to all things camera related, but decided to buy my first digital camera. I have been researching as best I can even though the more I read, the more confused I seem to become, especially on technical specs.

That said, I think I have narrowed down my choices.
My requirements are under $500, high quality super zoom and macro mode (at least I think so). I will be using the camera mostly for bird watching, wildlife, and plant close-ups. There will be use inside for people as well.

I must have sound video capture and really want continuous shooting ability.

The cameras I'm considering are:
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H5
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ7 or FZ30
Kodak EasyShare P880

If anyone can give me any help or advice for the kinds of pics I want to take, I'd be very very grateful! I'm off to by a digicams for dummies book so I can understand the sites I'm using for research. :?

Thanks very much,

Maureen
Maureen99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 7, 2006, 12:41 PM   #2

Hi Maureen,

Those are good choices, but I'd also recommend the Canon Powershot S3 IS. If I were in the market for a super-zoom, it's the one I'd get. Here's a review on it:

http://www.steves-digicams.com/2006_reviews/s3is.html

Good luck deciding!
gadgetnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2006, 1:53 PM   #3

If I were you I'd take a look at the Fujis: S6500 and S9100. If you need indoor then you need high ISOs and nobody in P&S does a better job at that than Fuji.
If you asked my I'd go for the S6500. Even if it has a lower no. of pixels, you get that great lens (both wide and tele) and you get that awesome 6.3MP SuperCCD sensor that has been working miracles on the F30. The only downside to Fuji (that I can see) is that is used xD cards which are only used by Fuji and Olympus, but other than that it's perfect weather all the way.