Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 10, 2006, 12:15 AM   #1

I bought my first camera a kodak dx4530, it was one of the first 5.0MP at the time that i bought it, i think 3-4 years ago. I enjoyed it, I found it to drain batterys often, but i didn;t use nimh 2500, just regualr batteries.

What i dont like about that camera was its big and bulky kinda. I paid 300+ for the camera so i didn't wanna take it out much due to fear of damage.

I'm looking for a camera, mainly a point and shoot like my dx4530 but maybe a little more options since i found this site and i wanted to learn a little mroe about digi photography. I'm a mechanic and i want to bring the camera with me to work. The camera needs to be able to handle some of the elements. Mainly i'll just leave it in my toolbox throw it in the back seat or so. i'm not using it for anything serious. POint and shoot whatever pictures i need to show damages on vechiles or leaks and stuff like that. on the weekends i would like to take close up pictures for ebay selling items. randomly just goofing off with friends as well. I kinda wanted to make a photo blog.

With a budget of near $150 or so. I have a lot of spare MMC/SD/ mini SD cards laying around and i would like to use them but its not a must have.

Given all this info what would one recommend me for a camera.
bowlofturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 10, 2006, 2:03 AM   #2

its unlikely a normal camera could survive being tossed around so best to handle with care..

Beyond that it depends on what features you want. If its just point and shoot there are so many options. Newegg had a Fuji finepix digital camera for just $99 (can't remember which) it was 3.3 megapixels or so, also there are lots of 5 mp cameras for around $120 - $150. I suggest you check amazon or newegg and pick one that you like.