Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 12, 2006, 10:25 AM   #1

Hello, i am a beginner photographer, have been shooting with my Canon a400 for a few years now and now im going to buy something better. Having read all sorts of reviews and thing i turn here for your opinions. Which of them is better. What concerns me about the k100d was that there was a issue with auto white balance setting, shooting indoor, under tungsten lightning. And in dim lightning conditions itsometimes gets slow? And then EOS 350d, is it without the IS above the k100d?

Thank You
Raigo
-raigo- is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 12, 2006, 11:43 AM   #2

Both camera's will have some minor issues, such as the one you listed...and though the XT has fast focusing, I hear it is not as accurate 100% of the time.

My personal choice would be the K100D. Most of that choice is due to handling issues and viewfinder size.
swgod98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2006, 3:08 AM   #3

Thanks swgod98, any other ideas?
BR
-raigo- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2006, 7:05 AM   #4

Hey .. my pick would be the XT. Canon is known for it quality pictures. Plus i find the size of the XT not to be a problem for me. I have never used the Pentax but according to the reviews i have read, Digital noise is more noticable once you get up to ISO 800 and above. Canons digital noise is still very good at800 ISO and above. Plus now that Canon has released the XTi the XT should be able to be found at a cheaper price then before.
scotiez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2006, 8:34 AM   #5

If you make a comaprision between photos taken under the same light conditions and at the same ISO (1600) you will find out that, in fact there is no difference between those two cameras.
The samples to compare are right here, on this site.

scotiez wrote:

Quote: