Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 20, 2006, 3:01 PM   #1

I'm a commercial real estate agent, and I need a new digital camera for work. It needs to be small enough to be discrete and I need it to have as wide an angle as possible. Any recommendations? Or should I use a magnetic wide angle lens only when I need it?
Budge is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 20, 2006, 6:31 PM   #2

I would recommend that you not use "the widest angle possible." This will produce distortion (rounded corners and walls) that may not be in your best interest, particularly in commercial properties (do prospects really want to see buildings with low ceilings and converging, not parallel walls). :idea:

Try an modest priced, pocket size camera. My wife's Nikon 7600 is an example. However, if you're dealing with warehouses and such, you will want a camera with a stronger flash to reach the far walls.

Glenn:-)
gsrunyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2006, 6:51 PM   #3

Thanks for the advice. I am dealing with warehouses and office buildings. I can't really use an external flash because I have to be very discrete (the owners don't want their tenants to know the building might be for sale).

Perhaps I should get one like you suggested, use a wide angle converter only when needed, and crop the egdes to minimize the distortion. I am thinking about the A710 because it has a threaded lens ring.
Old Sep 22, 2006, 3:04 AM   #4
Super Moderator

Try the Panasonic FX01.
peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2006, 4:26 AM   #5

Budge
there are very few choices when it comes to wide angle compacts
In this sort of work you need 24mm (35mm equiv) or wider