Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 11, 2006, 10:53 AM   #1

Hello, I am so glad I found this site. I hope to get some information from you guys and come back for more advice once I get a new camera. I am an amateur, but I love taking pictures! What I have right now is a 35MM Canon Sureshot 150u (38mm-150mm zoom) This is a great little camera for everyday photos, and I have even taken some great shots of close up items such as flowers. I also have a Kodak DC4800 Zoom Digital camera 3.1 megapixel which I bought 4-5 years ago that I RARELY use. The reason that I do not use it is that I honestly have not taken time to learn how to use it. I have taken some DECENT pictures, but they do not see to have the same quality as my 35MM.

My main reason for wanting another camera isfor taking far away wildlife shots (the ability to zoom in and get a clear/close picture) and close-ups of people, flowers, etc.

The majority of my picture taking is outdoors, although I do take some indoor pictures and would like to also consider indoor picture with low lighting.

I would like to spend less than $1,000, preferable more like $500 or less! I would like someone to give me a list of options and prices.

Thank you in advance!

Michele in Louisiana
jeepsr4girlz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 11, 2006, 11:18 AM   #2

Hi Michele,

If you want the ability to zoom in on subjects, you may want to look at cameras that are referred to as "Super-Zoom" cameras. They are fixed lens, point & shoot cameras with good zoom and telephoto abilities.They usually have manual settings as well. Many of the better models are in the $300-$500 range and they take great pictures.If you don't mind spending quite a bit more and a higher learning curve, you can always go with a DSLR. To get the kind of "reach" you want from a DSLRwill require a separate lens purchase and that can start getting expensive.