Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 26, 2006, 12:19 PM   #1

OK, so I have decided to make the jump into the DSLR world and have given myself around $1000 to do so. I have a decent working knowledge of digital cameras and technology in general. I have a P&S Canon which I am going to keep for day to day, out on the town etc, so the DSLR will mostly be for me to learn on and hopefully reach a higher level of proficiency with photography in general. I anticipate shooting primarily outdoors, both day and night (night will be city-scape type stuff), indoor shooting will be limited and probably well lit. I would like to get a decent telephoto lens because I am a structural engineer (good at math, bad as speling)and I will probably be doing a lot of architectural photography and will want to get shot of details on buildings and bridges etc. I was also thinking I may eventually invest in a extra-wide angle at some point (for 'dem big buildings) but will stick to the basics for now.

I am about 90% decided that I want a K100D. I like the quality, ergonomics (I have handled Canon, Nikon, Pentax and Oly in the store), I.S., and I feel the price point is good for an entry level newbski like myself. Plus the Pentax seems highly regarded on these forums.

That being said, this is what I have come up with to spend my money on, and I thought I would offer it up in these forums to find out if the more learned shooters out there may know of a better "bang for your buck" in terms of lens, flashes etc.

K100D with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 : $600ish

Pentax AF360FGZ Flash: $150 (after rebate)

Pentax DA 50-200mm f/4-5.6 ED : $180 (after rebate)

Pentax Electronic cable release : $30

Total : $960 (probably will also buy a nice bag to hold all this kit)