Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 9, 2006, 7:34 PM   #1

Ok, folks, these forums are amazing and I'm glad I've stumbled into them. You guys/gals are the best. Here is where I stand. I'm a total newbie. I'm looking to spend up to about $500or$600 max.

From reading around in different reviews, and things, I think that I've narrowed my search to the Fuji Finepix F30 and the Canon Powershot A170 IS. However, I am in no way shape or form tied into these, so feel free to tell me I'm a moron, and suggest a better option.

To me, it is of VERY little importance how much manual control I have over things like aperture, etc. I prefer something very automated. Most important to me is picture quality, and I also like that some of these cameras have a TON of "modes" to choose from, making my life that much easier.

I presently own a 5mp Sony Cybershot DSC F707. From what I understand, it's a decent camera, all things considered.

I want to stress that I am BY NO MEANS, TIED INTO THE TWO CAMERAS mentioned above. If you feel there are other, better options, by all means.

What I like about the Fuji is that supposedly, it takes great pictures, but I don't like the lack of zoom. The Canon has double the zoom of the Fuji, but probably takes slightly noisier pictures.

Anyway, as you can see, I'm a newbie. Would love everyone's opinions on that and I want to thank you in advance.

I have ONE MORE question which will probably sound pretty ignorant to you folks, who for the most part, REALLY know what you are doing...I see "noise" mentioned alot in reference to ISO. I don't know what that means, or what ISO means, or how that affects me as a VERY amateur person in this. Any help here too would be greatly appreciated.

JohnnyNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 9, 2006, 7:49 PM   #2

Johnny,