Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 17, 2006, 12:05 AM   #1

For a trip overseas, I need to purchase a small camera by Tuesday 11/21 at noon. I want an ultracompact. I am an amateur photograph with more interest in capturing and framing the shot than anything else. I have owned a variety of point and shoot and SLRs through the years. With digital non-SLRs, my beef is lag between pushing the button and capturing the picture. I'm thinking of a Canon SD Digital Elph. The choices I have found that are available locally are an SD550, SD600, SD630, or SD800IS. The 550 is a sweet price point and seems like a good camera. However, my second beef is that I really, really like a wide angle lens---not essential, but I DO like it. So the 800IS would seem to be my camera. My concern is that it is a brand new camera with a new processor. and some of the user reviews have been less than stellar. Do you think it would be a mistake to buy that camera? I LOVE my Nikon D50 SLR. But it is too big to carry with me. I need a small camera. Thanks for your help.
katielou is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 17, 2006, 12:33 AM   #2

I don't really see the price difference when comparing the 800 to the 700. Keep it in mind if price is a factor.
KALEL33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2006, 12:36 AM   #3

No 700s available locally, so that isn't really an option.

Old Nov 17, 2006, 12:02 PM   #4

Hi, I have the SD500 and a Pentax K100D. I really like the small size of the elf. It slips in to my pocket any where any time. Takes very good pictures. Not the fastest, in taking bursts (a whale jumping in Alaska).

Remember, that for wide angle, you can stitch together several images into a panaroma. That works VERYwell, and the software comes with the camera to process the shots on a PC.

If you do not want to lug an SLR this would seem to be a very good choice - the Canon 800IS.