Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 17, 2006, 8:28 PM   #1

Hi,

I'm a serious amatuer photographer and usually use my film Sigma SLR.

I'm looking for a digital point&shoot for around 200$. I'll be using this camera to:

1-Shoot at concerts -very dark, night photos, macro photography, landscapes

2-Shoot pics of 5-12 inch models which I'll place in my portfolio. I'm looking for a camera that can shoot clear pics indoors WITHOUT a flash (The sharp shadows caused by the flash don't look too good). And I don't want to lug around a tripod wherever I go.

Does anti-shake ( image stabilization) really make a difference? Is it better to have a camera that has this feature or one that has a manual mode so that you can control the shutter speed and aperture to produce images that don't have that motion blur?

So i've narrowed it down to the following cameras:

1-Casio Exilim EX-Z70

2-Fujifilm F20

3-Kodak EasyShare C875

4-Canon PowerShotA540 - doesn't have antishake, but it has manual controls

5-Canon PowerShot SD600 6mp - doesn't have antishake or manual controls

6-Panasonic Lumix DMC-LZ5S

Have any of you used these cameras? Or would you suggest another?

Thank you for your time.

lisas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 17, 2006, 8:41 PM   #2

Hi,

However I'm going to purchase a p&s & was wondering if anybody here has used the powershot A540 & SD600. If so, I would like to know how well they shoot indoors without flash and at night. Do you know where I can find photos on the net taken in these conditions?

Also, these cameras don't have the "image stabilization" feature. How much do you think that it affects image quality?

Thank you

Old Nov 17, 2006, 8:49 PM   #3

Hi,