Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 18, 2006, 7:58 AM   #1

Could you recommend a good digital camera to take online auction photos, I am not really a photography expert, so I need something not too complicated, and also that can take good pictures indoors with no natural light, because the room I use to take the photos in my shop has no windows, could you also advise of main issues regarding online auction pictures.
Thanks
diprado45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 18, 2006, 8:16 AM   #2
Administrator

You will want good lighting and a tripod or suitable substitute.

A camera with Aperture Priority can also help out, since you can use a smaller aperture for greater depth of field.

My favorite macro cameras are the swivel bodied Coolpix models like the Coolpix 990, 995, and 4500. These are all discontinued now, but available on the used market. They can all fill the frame with an object around 2/3" across with virtually no distortion (since the macro "sweet spot" is at around half zoom, and their Macro Icons even change color letting you know when your zoom amount is just right). They also have Aperture Priority to help out with Depth of Field.

"Canned" lighting solutions:

http://www.clouddome.com/

Check your kitchen, too.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2006, 9:04 AM   #3

Thank You.
I cecked the Coolpix models. Do you know of something more compact and small as sometimes I need to go to people houses to take pictures of items.

Thanks
diprado45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2006, 9:17 AM   #4
Administrator

Most Digital Cameras do a fair job at closeups. It depends on what you're taking photos of.

The problem with most is that you need to be at their extreme zoom settings (full wide angle zoom position with most) to get as close. That can mean barrel distortion and difficulty with lighting casting shadows.