Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 26, 2006, 9:57 PM   #1

I'm just new to photography but I'm willing to commit a lot of time for this new obsession of mine. I want to learn basic and advanced techniques and buy a camera that can provide me everything I need to be better at this new hobby. I want to get a new digicam that I can grow with and I have narrowed my choices down to the Canon G7 and the Nikon D40 because of budget constraints.
What I'm looking for is a camera that's compact enough to lug around yet powerful enough to deal with studio shots and indoor shoots meaning it has to be good at high ISOs.
I love the added features of the G7; namely: IS, 6x zoom, video mode, compact size, hot shoe,numerous scene modes, live-view, 9-pt AF and the fact that almost everything can be accessed without going through the camera menu, but I read that it has image quality problems and most frighteningly, has a lot of noise on the higher ISO settings it provides. It is a bit cheaper than my other option though.
On the other hand,the D40 gives me better upgradeability, quicker response times, in-camera editing, RAW format, better shots at higher ISOs, and an optical viewfinder I can actually use (well, it's actually my only viewfinder option here). A you can see, I'm losing a lot of features with this option, but I wont be missing them a lot because I can always borrow my girlfriend's ixus 850 is if ever I'll need some of the G7's features. Besides, I find the better image quality I can get from an SLR to be more important than all those other features.
So please, post your opinions here on what you think I should invest in for the Holidays. I can't wait to begin foodstyling and keeping memories of all the important family events we're having next year.