Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 27, 2006, 5:59 AM   #1

Hi -. My Casio Exilim Z-120 has just packed up after I fried it with a multi point adaptor when trying to find batteries.. And am looking for a replacement. Ideally I would like an Slr, but as I would only consider myself as an amateur i think i would not only look pretentious but it wouldn't get used as much as it should do. I like to take landscape photos and occasionally be creative with my photography, ie messing around with the manual focus.

Anyhow, ive been looking at a few cameras and put quite simply i want to get the best "bang for buck".

The cameras ive seen are

FujiFilm Finepix s9500/s9000 - I like this one a lot but the price is around £240 which is only £60 off the nikon D50. I do however like the manual focus rings..

Canon S3 IS - Around £180, but the manual focus is a button... ( im not too sure how this fares over the lens barrel rings as seen on th s9000)

Kodak P880 - Around £160 - ive read some good reviews but its a pretty ugly camera and looks a bit flimsy. Does have 24mm wide angle lens which would be ideal for landscape.

Nikon D50 - £300, limited lens but its an slr..

Any advice would be greatly appreciated as im constantly changing my mind and am unsure as which one i should get.

Regards

Aaron

aarongroves103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 27, 2006, 8:44 AM   #2

aaron-

Ihave tried the Fuji S-9000 and quite honestly, I did not like it that much. I felt that it really was not as sharp as I wanted. I do have the Nikon D-50 and it is a very good camera. However, you must keep in mind that it does represent something of an investment, as, to my point of view, you need at least two lenses. I have the Nikkor 18-70mm and the Nikkor 55-200mm lenses. It is pretty good for low light level shooting, but i find myself desiring better High ISO settings without noise.