Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 2, 2006, 8:59 PM   #1

hey all. i need a solid unit that has a good zoom on it and wont break the bank. i am not a proffesional photgrapher but am a journalist that needs a flexible camera. good for people, places, and closeups. i use the fz5 and it takes nice shots but have noticed 2 things that bother me. first low light shots are not good at all. second, if i am taking a shot and the object moves a bit i lose clarity. i read that something called a cmos sensor helps with that. is that true? if not what camera can offer a feature to compensate for this. i have looked at the panny fz50, olympus evolt 500, and canon rebel xt. its a big jump in price and i am not even sure they have what i need, so i am hoping uou can help. thanks
bj5011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 2, 2006, 9:21 PM   #2

bj,

Low light and the Panny megazooms don't seem to go well together. Short of going to a DSLR, which will be pretty expensive when it comes time to start buying additional lenses for it, and if low light performance is really important to you, take a look at the new Fuji S6000. It has a 10.7x zoom, and ISO 3200 capability. It also has a manual zoom and focus ring, which are really nice features.

the Hun

rinniethehun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2006, 9:49 PM   #3

Rinnie is very correct!

(1) The Panasonic FZ series cameras does not do well in low light level shooting at all.

(2) When shooting low light level photos I have had a lot of success when usingthe new Fuji S-6000fd camera in the Program Mode, NOT the Auto Mode and manually setting the ISO