Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 4, 2006, 10:34 PM   #1

I think I've narrowed my selection to 2 cameras. the Canon sd 800 is OR the fuji f31fd. Any opinionsthat mighthelp me to sort out which of would be the better camera for me?

I want to be able to get quick snap candids, indoor shots, some or many of which will be low/poor lighting. I'll also use the camera on vacations for indoor and outdoor shooting. I would ilke to have something that is sturdy, small and compact enough to keep with me in my purse so I can USE it. I am a novice regarding photography, so I really hope that by using a camera often I can learn effective lighting and composition techniques. In that regard my thoughts are that I'll need something which will produce good results on auto, while I learn how to make good use of the manual features of the camera.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Irene

itzme is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 4, 2006, 10:52 PM   #2

Irene-

The attached photo was taken with my Fuji S-6000fd which uses the F-30/F-31 platform for its imager and processor. It was taken in a local Optical Shop while I was waiting for my husband.

It was taken handheld, at an ISO setting of 800, with 1/34th a second shutter speed without flash.

MT/Sarah
Attached Images

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2006, 11:15 PM   #3

Nice picture, Sarah. Any ideawhat kind of picture the canon sd800 IS would produce under those same conditions? I guess since I don't REALLY know I'm asking: The while the canon uses Image Stabilization technology, Fuji "accomplishes" image stabilization using high ISO's. Is there an advantage of one over the other that would clearly make one camera a better choice for me?
itzme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2006, 11:28 PM   #4

Irene-