Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 6, 2006, 2:30 PM   #1

Hi All,

I am interested in getting a new digital camera for Christmas and I think I have narrowed it down to the Sony H5 and the Fuji S6000, although I am leaning towards the H5. My current camera is a $30 Kodak Advantix I got for free in 1999. As you can see I will be stepping up quite a bit. It should also go without saying that I know very little about digital cameras.

Ihave done some research andI like theH5 because of its zoom capabilities, non-grainy evf (as compared to the S 6000),large lcd, and past experiences with Sony products. I have heard a lot of good things about the S 6000, but I don't know if manually turning the lens for zoom will be a frustrating affair being that I am a beginner, any suggestions on this? It is also my understanding that the S 6000 is better in low light conditions, is it that much better than the H5? The S 6000 also has a wider lense than the H5, would this be a positive or a negative in typical everyday pictures?

I willprimarily be taking pictures offamily indoors andout. Landscapes and animals would be too far behind. Basically the camera is not for a specific type of shooting, just your typical everyday amateur stuff.

Thanks
wannabhappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 6, 2006, 3:08 PM   #2

wannabhappy-

I am a digital camera instructor, so I own and use a lot of cameras, including the Sony H-5 and the Fuji S-6000/S-6500. Because of the many features, including IS and in having postivie experiences that would be both a plus and beneficial toward you moving forward in learning more about photography, I would suggest the Sony H-5 ultrazoom camera.