Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 9, 2006, 1:39 PM   #1

I work as a real estate appraiser and am wanting a small camera I can hang around my neck (to keep the cam and battery warm to extend battery life, and so I don't have to clutter my belt- pain in the butt).

I need to take pics of rooms in houses but with my fuji 6800 Finepix (acient, I know!) I'll get a toilet and sink in a bathroom, the fireplace of a living room, or I will get half the house, when standing across the street!

-I don't want a fish-eye, or any extra lenses

-must work well in low light

Suggestions?
beigewill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 9, 2006, 2:31 PM   #2

I know of nothing small with wide angle and really good low light abilities.

The closest I could suggest might be the Canon SD800is. It has good ISO 400 capability and combined with the stabilization should give decent results since you aren't shooting moving subjects. It is 28mm at the wide end.

The Kodak V705 has a 23mm lens that would be great for your purposes but it isn't very good in low light without a flash and the flash isn't very strong even rated at ISO 200. You also have to use digital zoom for shots between 23mm and the start of the standard range at about 38mm. That might not be a really bid disadvantage for the size output you need for real estate.

If your secret location is outside the US you might look at the Ricoh R5.

If you hold the camera with the long side up and shoot three panorama shots they can be cropped to a standard 4:3 ratio giving about 27mm from 38mm shots. That might be more hassle than you want to go through but it works. If you were willing to do that I would recommend the Fuji F30 since it has good low light capability.

slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2006, 4:25 PM   #3