Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 22, 2006, 12:19 AM   #1

All the research I have done on my three camera choices has only served to confuse me more. If I tell you what I need it for, maybe someone will just pick one for me. I am trying to decide b/t the Canon S3, the Panasonic FZ7, and the Sony H5--I realize this is a common question, but like I said, I am having a hard time coming up with an actual choice.

I am a novice, definitely a novice compared to alot of you. I have a S2 at work and I love the pictures the megazoom will produce. I need a new camera for home use, and my main subject is...kids, kids, and more kids. Kids that unfortunately move fast and don't stand still for the shots that I want. Kids that go to dance recitals indoors and soccer games outdoors. Kids that have beautiful light freckles across the bridge of their nose that I love to get closeups of.

The whole video thing doesn't interest me at all, and the price difference between the three cameras is not enough to be a decison swayer for me. The battery issue doesn't arouse any feelings one way or another either.

The Panasonic is supposed to have more noise, but will my novice self really notice that?

The S2 that I use takes fabulous outdoor pictures, but sometimes has trouble in the school auditorium, for example, both with noisy photos as well as trying to lock down the focus when pressing the button halfway down (it seems to really have to "search" sometimes). I spend a lot of my time with the button halfway down so I can be ready, but sometimes they move somewhere that is nowhere near where I focused on them in the first place.

The IS is important to me; I seem to have shaky hands I guess and have to really try hard to get clear pictures of moving targets.