Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 23, 2006, 2:37 PM   #1

Hi,

First post here...I'm ready to upgrade from a Canon A700 to my first dSLR and would appreciate your advice/suggestions.

I'm a relative SLR novice, with just a little experience years ago with a Minolta x700.
I plan to use the camera for general use(portraits, vacations, etc)., astrophotography through my Orion ED80 APO with Sirius-EQ mount, and for indoor/outdoor sports photography (mostly youth/high school volleyball, baseball, basketball, etc. ).

I do not mind spending up to $2000+ including lenses, but (much) less would be better. Considering two approaches: 1) buy a lower-end camera while I learn and wait for the dSLR market to evolve a bit more, or 2) buy something that meets my longer-term needs rather than expecting to upgrade soon.

I have narrowed down to the following as a short list:
Nikon D50 or D80
Olympus E500
Pentax K10D

I like the price point of the Olympus package with two lenses, but concerned that it will come up short for astrophotography and low-light action sports.

I like the Nikon D50, but concerned about lens cost for a good IS solution. Also, low pixel count for astro usage. The Nikon D80 solves the pixel count problem for astro usage, but no IS in body concerns me if the industry moves to in-body IS.