Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 27, 2006, 12:34 PM   #1

I've asked before and come to the conclusion that I need the one with the easiest menus and most logic handling.

What camera do have the most logic and easy to use menusystem and overall a very easy to use camera?

Since I am a beginner, pentax, canon or Nikon will all suit me just fine and I am looking at the beginner models such as, Nikon D80, Pentax K10D or Canon Eos 400d or going for the cheaper Nikon pentax models such as D40, D50, K100D.

If I get a to complex camera that is not logic and not easy to use then I might not learn as quickly.

But the deciding factor will be the camera that is the most easy to use.

Any suggestions to which brand(or camera in specific)that will be?

Sorry for the english, not my native tongue.

Fenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 27, 2006, 1:53 PM   #2

The most user friendly for a beginner are probably the Nikon D40 and the Olympus E-500.

kenbalbari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2006, 3:09 PM   #3

Ken,

I'm not sure I necessarily agree - those cameras certainly have the least feature set. But, let's face it - if you're learning photography, what are the 'basic things':

auto mode - every entry level DSLR has it

Program mode - every entry level DSLR has it

Various prefab modes (portrait, sports, night, landscape) - every entry level DSLR has it.

AV, TV and M mode - every entry level DSLR has it

Exposure Compensation - every DSLR has it.

ISO selection - every DSLR has it.

White balance settings - every dslr has it - and a camera that lets you set the WB externally vs. in a menu would be 'easier' in my opinion.

So, I wouldn't say cameras like Canon XTi, Nikon D80/D50, Pentax K100, k10 are any more difficult to use to set those basic parameters above. They simply contian more features that you could just as easily choose not to use until you are ready.