Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 29, 2006, 12:33 PM   #1

First sorry for the english.. i'm venezolano..
a few years a go i bought a cyber shot them a minolta z1 and them a minolta z3, the last normal camera but not so much for night picture, and for general too, hight iso very poor image.. i read a lot a about camera and photo i'm still learning, reading a lot, if you know some web site where i can read learn more, about lens how it work kind of lens i really apreciate... My last 2 cameras was super zoom cameras 10x and 12x the cameras say 135mm i'm still learning the meaning and the aplication of this numbers..
so i like take picture wildlife landscape i do a lot super macro, like flower and very litle animals, and night picture too, well more or less is personality what i like....
After some time taking picture i thnk i'm ready to buy a DSLR, with my budget 800$ what camera with what lens to star them well i'll buy more.... i'm looking for good zoom, and general use for now...i saw the nikon d50, d40, or K100d... tell me what is the way for become in good photographer... and thank for the help...
TICK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 29, 2006, 1:31 PM   #2

D40, D50 & K100D are all nice cameras - though be aware, the D40 is limited as to what lenses you can use, so this may mean that cheaper 3rd party lenses may not be available to you.

The D50 has VERY fast auto focus, the K100D is a superb all rounder and has a stablised body. Both can be recommended.

If you do buy a DSLR kit, you might find it chaeper to buy the 2nd lens (55-200mm) at the same time as bundles often do the second lens at around half price.

HOWEVER - it looks like you like doing macro stuff and on a DSLR, you will need a special macro lens to do macro work and these can be around £300.