Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 30, 2006, 7:49 PM   #1

I'm just getting into the field of Digital Cameras looking for a good price/performance model.
I want to know what exactly effects the overallquality of a digital camera.. I hear things like zoom size, pixel ammount, LCD size, etc. but i really cant find a list of the things i should be looking out for.

Greatly Appriciated!
Track is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 30, 2006, 8:11 PM   #2

Not having four days to write a reply, let me just say that the quality of the lens, the sensor and the processor makeup the overall quality of a digicam. Everything else is considered features...some of which negatively effect the quality of the camera.

You need to determine which features are necessary for you to accomplish your photographic goals...they haven't invented the perfect camera yet. Everything is a tradeoff.

What type of photographs do you want to take? Are you looking for a camera you can stick in your pocket, or doesn't size matter? How critical are you of photo quality? Are you looking to produce National Geographic or Sports Illustrated quality pics, or just 4x6 snapshots, or just something good enough to email a friend?

And, how much are you willing to spend to get into digital photography?

the Hun

rinniethehun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2006, 8:26 PM   #3

Quality of the lens,sensor and processor, right. What abt thing like "f/ number"?

Im not looking for the perfect camera. I bought my last camera in 1999. IThought that if i waited some time before buying a digital camera, then the prices would drop to the point where u can get a good quality camera for cheap.. i mean who needs more than 6-7 MP. As in u can get the perfect camera for a few hundred dollars, and if u wanted to spend more then u would just get features that professionals want. Am i too early?