Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 31, 2006, 10:59 PM   #1

I need to buy a camera next week with the following features:

-3x or more optical zoom
-ultra compact point and shoot (something I can keep in a pocket)
-image stabilization
-sd/mmc card support
-rechargeable battery
-good quality pictures (with 6mp or more)
-manual settings
-$250 price range

I've looked at Canon cameras (SD600, SD630 and SD800 IS), and cannot decide.

I'm new to photography, and don't know much about it, and would like something I could learn from (don't want to go all out and blow my money on an SLR). A lot of photos will be of scenery (architecture related), people, and indoor.

SD800IS sounds close to what I want, but it's not in my price range (but I could probably manage to come up with an extra $100 for it). The only down side I heard is that it has no manual settings which means I won't be able to learn much about photography from it.

Any suggestions?
pushthebutton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 1, 2007, 8:03 AM   #2

push,

If you really want to learn photography, I'm not real sure that a compact P&S is necessarily the way to go. Every digital camera purchase will be a trade-off with quality, size and features. Quality and features cost money...you can't expect the finest of everything in an inexpensive P&S - the manufacturers don't put the best in them. Size is restrictive - you can't expect an ultracompact cam to have every feature known to man - where would they put the buttons? There's no room! By the time they put a 2 1/2" LCD on the back..well, that just about fills up the whole camera.

I would seriously recommend you try an "SLR-like" camera, with a full set of manual features. That would put you closer to the size and feel of a DSLR, and permit you to experiment with manual controls.